My little sisters sexual dilema

My family situation is complicated. Too complicated to include in this blog but I promise to later.  But in order for this story to work I need to give a few details.

I have a long lost little sister. We can call her S.  I met her in 2010. We have seen each other for four different occasions. Before this I was the baby and now I love being a big sister 🙂

Anyway, her crazy mom (we have different moms same dad) thought she would ask all of us (the other sisters) to talk to S about sex! My older sisters were upset about this. They thought something like, “We don’t even know this girl why would we be the ones to talk to her?”

But I was happy to do it as her big sister. But the thing is, she is already having sex! On one of those four occasions me and my older sister interrogated her about her life. Naturally.

Now her mom is asking that I talk to her! So I did. I questioned S about all the usual things starting with:

Does your mom know? She knows now.

Are you seeing someone now? Not really

What does that mean? We do stuff…

I told her that was bad and not to let “senior boys” run their mouth about her. I’ve had the same thing happen to me in high school. But I feel that I can’t tell her not to have sex… That would be hypocritical of me. I started every young. Anyway I told her she needed to get on birth control and get tested. She said her mom didn’t have a job that offered health insurance so she can’t.

I don’t know much about Planned Parenthood but I do know they give birth control to people without insurance for pretty cheap. But her mom is super into the church and refused to have anything to do with it!  Now my poor little sister has to be without it!? Her mom is crazy! Why wouldn’t she want her on birth control?!

I know what her mom wants: for her daughter to stop having sex.

I wish I was a virgin… but a 16 year old wouldn’t understand that. It’s unreasonable to expect her daughter to give up sex. Worse to blame it on the fact that she doesn’t like Planned Parenthood. A friend told me that every county has public health clinics that don’t require health insurance. I asked S for her zip code (we live in different states) so I will look into it for her… Sucks…

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: An Introduction to the sisters | Lessons as I learn them
  2. Trackback: My little sisters sexual dilema part 2 | Lessons as I learn them
  3. producthoochie
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 08:46:18

    Do you know if your sister is on a Medicaid based insurance plan? I would find that out and then call Planned Parenthood (800) 230-PLAN. Her mother is basically putting her sexual health in your hands.and you need to speak to HER about your concerns since your sister is under 18. PPNYC does accept a lot of insurance and even if she is not insured, you should call and find out the laws regarding examinations and contraceptives. And encourage her to practice safe- most high schools give out condoms for free.

    Reply

    • lessonsasilearnthem
      Feb 09, 2013 @ 11:06:22

      Thank you sooooooooo much the tip! As far as I know they aren’t even in Medicaid but I’m going to look into what she can do. What is PPNYC? Is that the county health?

      Reply

      • producthoochie
        Feb 09, 2013 @ 11:28:21

        PPNYC= Planned Parenthood NYC. Medicaid is gov’t based health insurance. NY calls it Health Plus. Depending on the state you live in, there should be some sort of insurance through Medicaid. Again, you should talk to her mom or your dad about this.

      • lessonsasilearnthem
        Feb 09, 2013 @ 18:08:03

        Thanks, I will talk to her mom but she did say she didn’t want my dad to know….

Say something

Blog Stats

  • 3,477 hits

Wanna ask a question?

lessonsasilearnthem@yahoo.com