House Wives

There is something marvelous about a women who can maintain her home, her kids, her husband, and her appearance. For some reason I have always looked forward to being a house wife. I’m not sure if I’ll ever be one because I am going to school to be a business woman (two very different career choices).

courant.com betty

I’ve been thinking about them much more when I started watching Mad Men. I absolutely love Betty Draper! Yes, I’m addicted to yet another show on Netflix, but I can’t binge watch because I agreed with my babysitter that I’ll only watch it with him. Stupid idea! Now we are only in the second season and it will take forever to finish it!

My babysitter was married once. I ask about it all the time (he says it doesn’t bother him). He let her quit her job and be a house wife but she ended up getting a part-time job and going to school. I often wonder if he would give me that offer…

It would be hard to be a housewife now a days. Gosh I wrote that and realized that I make it sound like I’m some 40-year-old woman who has so much life experience. Anyway, it would be hard financially. I guess if your husband is wealthy like Don Draper it would be fine but then of course you have to make sure he isn’t cheating on you. But then women in that position don’t end up being house wives they end up being reality TV stars with plastic surgery and attitude. I definitely wouldn’t want to end up like that. I guess what the real challenge is to be so humble and put everyone else before you. A quality which most people, myself including, lack.

Today I had lunch with my sister N ( I still have to do an intro to her but that one will be hard because I am closest to her) and we talk about our mom. She was a single mother and she worked full-time and took one class a semester (weird that’s what I’m doing now but I don’t have any kids at all… I’m just lazy). We hardly saw her because she worked so much and when she did come home at 8 o’clock she didn’t realize all the trouble we were getting into. Real trouble… (not getting in to that now). I think if we still had house wives now the world would be a happier place.

oh and BTW, since I can’t binge watch Mad Men I found another show that I can watch when my babysitter is not with me. It’s United States of Tara and its crazy good. Also has a house wife in it ūüôā

I’ll close with this ridiculous standard of the perfect wife. I know its crazy but I read this often and wonder if I can be this mysterious Proverbs 31 woman.

Proverbs 31: 10 – 31 NLT

10 Who can find a virtuous and capable wife?

She is more precious than rubies.
11 Her husband can trust her,
and she will greatly enrich his life.
12 She brings him good, not harm,
all the days of her life.

13 She finds wool and flax
and busily spins it.
14 She is like a merchant’s ship,
bringing her food from afar.
15 She gets up before dawn to prepare breakfast for her household
and plan the day’s work for her servant girls.

16 She goes to inspect a field and buys it;

with her earnings she plants a vineyard.
17 She is energetic and strong,
a hard worker.
18 She makes sure her dealings are profitable;
her lamp burns late into the night.

19 Her hands are busy spinning thread,
her fingers twisting fiber.
20 She extends a helping hand to the poor
and opens her arms to the needy.
21 She has no fear of winter for her household,
for everyone has warm clothes.

22 She makes her own bedspreads.
She dresses in fine linen and purple gowns.
23 Her husband is well known at the city gates,
where he sits with the other civic leaders.
24 She makes belted linen garments

and sashes to sell to the merchants.

25 She is clothed with strength and dignity,
and she laughs without fear of the future.
26 When she speaks, her words are wise,
and she gives instructions with kindness.
27 She carefully watches everything in her household
and suffers nothing from laziness.

28 Her children stand and bless her.

Her husband praises her:
29 “There are many virtuous and capable women in the world,
but you surpass them all!‚ÄĚ

30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last;
but a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly praised.
31 Reward her for all she has done.

Let her deeds publicly declare her praise.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Dirty deeds | Lessons as I learn them
  2. incrediblewomenofindia
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 18:49:54

    Hey there, nicely written….. A word of warning from a house wife herself…. DON’T BE ONE… it’s not as glossy as it seems…. :). I wish I had chosen differently years back. I love my kids and husband and my home, but God I wish I could have a different identity. At the end of the day you just become somebody’s wife, somebody’s mom. You are not you anymore.

    Reply

    • lessonsasilearnthem
      Aug 16, 2013 @ 19:02:42

      Wow! First off, you go girl for being able to be a house wife. And I guess I do have distorted image off what it is. I only see what’s on TV. Just out of curiosity if you were never a housewife, what you end up doing and who would be taking care of everything else?

      Reply

      • incrediblewomenofindia
        Aug 17, 2013 @ 03:13:28

        I was an English Teacher for Ethnic Minority Achievement Service before, and I would really like to get back into teaching some day. But unfortunately here in India I can’t find someone good enough to take care of my daughter, she’s just two years old. But hey am sure there are some house wives who probably enjoy being one, I guess I am not one of them.

Say something

Blog Stats

  • 3,442 hits

Wanna ask a question?

lessonsasilearnthem@yahoo.com